PWM with Netduino 3

• Last Post 28 March 2020
cd_sharp posted this 11 October 2018

Friends, I started playing with Netduino 3 to find the best way to do PWM with very low Duty Cycle. So far, this is the best result, 0.025% (thanks, Chris for the piece of code):

public static void Main()
        {
            var port = new Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.PWM(SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.Netduino.PWMChannels.PWM_PIN_D6, 250d, 0.00025d, false);//1 = 100%
            port.Start();
            Thread.Sleep(Timeout.Infinite);
        }

This is probably very close to the hardware limits. I think is more than enough for any PWM application we need.

The oscilloscope calculates 0.5% duty cycle, but I am convinced it is wrong, so don't count on that reading.

• Liked by
  • Chris
  • Vidura
Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Chris posted this 11 October 2018

Hey CD,

I have done some tests and it appears that the Microsoft .NET Microframework is limed to a resolution of: 0.0001

My tests show, a duty of: 0.00001 is out of range.

This is still well within what we require, being: 0.0005

My duty, on a TIP122 was 16% or 0.16, so we are well within range.

Chris

P.S: Nice Work my friend!

• Liked by
  • Vidura
  • cd_sharp
cd_sharp posted this 15 October 2018

Guys, thanks to Vidura I came up to trying this circuit which is mostly from him:

Here, my Netduino is powered by my laptop USB (which is disconnected from mains, it's only on battery). Let's say D6 pin is the output PWM and D5 pin is ground.

I have my DC power supply feeding MCP 1407 with 12 V.

This is the issue with this exact circuit:

It outputs 5V to the MOSFET gate, similar to Netduino's output signal when I was thinking it would output 12V pulses.

If I disconnect the gate of the MOSFET, it works as expected, it outputs 12V pulses:

Any idea what I'm missing and how I can make it deliver 12V pulses between the gate and the source?